Adjusting My Priority

Right after I complained about paying taxes this year around $2,600.00, something happened in our family to remind me what is really important in our lives and what really isn’t all that big of a deal.  My mom had another stroke last weekend.  Let me spare you all the details and just get to the point of what I want to say.  I am thankful.  We are thankful.

Yes, it’s devastating and yes, it’s hard.  But she’s still with us and after everything’s she’s been through, she’s the cheeriest and happiest person out of everyone.  She never gives up hope and she never loses faith in God that He has purpose for her in this life even in her health condition and maybe through her health condition.  I’m the one who has to be stronger.

I am going to continue this financial journey, but I won’t obsess over it and let it put me through an emotional roller coaster.  After all, it’s only money.  My priority is to move her in with me in a year or so.  I originally wanted to save up for a down payment to buy a small townhouse in maybe 3 years and then bring her in, but I don’t want to wait.

I do have a caregiver and a day care set up  for her, so she can be with someone from the moment she wakes up to when she goes to sleep.  But they’re not family and even after she moves in with me, she’ll continue to go to day care, so she can meet her friends and participate in different activities.  I just want to be able to see her everyday, cook her dinner, and watch her go to sleep at night.  

This will give my husband a chance to get to know her better, so he’ll be able to fully appreciate the kind of person my mom is and truly love her.  Our plan is for my brother to move in as well.  My mom always wanted all of us to live together again.  Her wish will come true.  Maybe this was her way of bringing all of us together faster.  In any case, I’m thankful that she’s who she is and I’m thankful that everyone agreed to moving in together next year.  I know circumstances can change and I know it’s going to be really hard for all of us to live together and care for our mom, but we’ll get through it as a family.

Keep us in your prayer. 

2 thoughts on “Adjusting My Priority

    • I really appreciate it.
      I wanted to give up this blog initially, but remembered that she’s part of my financial journey. So I decided to continue this, which can help me focus and get ideas from other people.
      Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

