Good Old Fashioned Piggy Bank

I recently read a post by The Norwegian Girl regarding old school savings method of piggy  banks and remembered my two success stories in the past that I completely forgot about.  Yes, there’s no interest accruing in the can or jar or whatever you put your cash into, but I make less than .5% in my savings account anyway.  It really doesn’t make much difference.  Like I mentioned before, motivation is really important for me, so for me to know that physical cash is stacking up inside the piggy bank will push me to put more in it to fatten it up.

Niagara Falls, Canada

I used this method twice in my adult life for specific goals.  The first time I did it was when I was saving money to take my mom and my brother to Niagara Falls in Canada.  I was in my mid 20’s and was making very little money with no concept of personal finance.  I was just living day to day and pay check to pay check.  But I knew I wanted to take this trip.  So I started putting cash and coins I had on me every day to this piggy bank.  Sometimes I didn’t have any and sometimes I had a quarter.  But I continued to dump all I had in that piggy bank.  My birthday money, Christmas money, coins on the street, or what have you all went in there.

It took me two years to save $2,000.00.  So finally we took the trip.  It was a great feeling to eat whatever we wanted and buy whatever we wanted with cash on vacation without worrying about credit card bill that will crush me later.  Flights, hotel, food, rental car, entrance fee, pictures, souvenir were all paid for with cash and $2,000.00 was enough for three of us for three day trip.  We were poor after moving to the U.S., so this was the first family trip in a decade.  My mom was so happy and we all had so much fun.

DSC05166 DSC05279 DSC05178

Costa Rica

The second time was after I started dating my now husband.  I suggested that we put cash in a piggy bank to save up for a trip.  We spent a lot of time at his house and we saw each other every day, so I set the piggy bank at his house.  In 6 months, we saved $1,800.00.  We took a back packing trip to Costa Rica for 10 days.

We had to be frugal when we were there, but it was a backpacking trip after all.  We stayed in hostels and ate a lot of arroz con pollo (rice with chicken).  We met a couple of people when we were in Motezuma and ended doing an Isla Tortuga (turtle island) tour together for a day.  In the evening time, there was a thunderstorm and we ate at this small restaurant under a small lamp eating great food and chatting together until very late at night with rain drops as background.  It was truly a memorable time.

Arenal volcano

Arenal volcano

Arenal volcano

Arenal volcano

Tabacon resort in La Fortuna

Tabacon resort in La Fortuna

Zip lining in Monteverde

Zip lining in Monteverde

Early morning in Montezuma

Early morning in Montezuma

Snorkeling during isla tortuga tour

Snorkeling during isla tortuga tour

Have you guys tried this method and if you did, what did you do with the money you saved in your piggy bank?

10 thoughts on “Good Old Fashioned Piggy Bank

    • Costa Rica was beautiful~ I’d love to say that I’m a nature person, but I’m too lazy to be one. But this place made me realize how awesome nature is.
      ^^ Is you daughter putting my in a piggy bank for something specific? You’re teaching her well at an early age~

    • If you’re having a hard time saving money in the bank, try saving actual cash in a piggy bank like I did. And if you do, let me know how it went~ I’d love to hear your success story.

  1. My husband and I started saving for a big once in a lifetime Galapagos trip a couple of years ago, and we finally hit our goal last year. THEN I decided to go get my MBA and it wasn’t prudent for us to spend so much money on a vacation after I’ve quit my job, so no more Galapagos for a while. I’m bummed about that, but I think I’m going to start rebuilding that fund again.

    • Even if you didn’t get to go to Galapagos, the money you saved is being used for your future. That is awesome~
      Good luck on school and saving more funds for your dream trip to Galapagos. You can do it~!!

Leave a Reply

