Should You Skimp on Skincare?

I’ve been suffering from adult acne my entire adult life. That’s over a decade of time not being able to just see my face without acne being in the way. Because of my acne staring boldly back at me in the mirror every time, I only focused to attack them and nothing else on my face. I used all kinds of acne ointments, acne solutions, acne creams, acne this and acne that in my 20s. Towards the end of my 20s, I started to notice my uneven skintone, deep laugh line, fine lines around my eyes, large pores, and bunch of other unpleasant skin problems.

That’s when I realized that I’ve had such a narrow tunnel vision regarding my skincare. So with panic and fear, I started using eye cream, pore tightning serum, anti aging essence, night serum, night cream, and other products hoping that it’ll reverse the affect of a decade of neglect. Well, it didn’t reverse it of course, but I’m thinking of it as preparation for my 40s. They say you’ll see the affect of your skincare regimen you do now ten years later. Since I know and saw the affect of my 20’s skincare neglect in my 30s skin, I was determined to not let that happen in my 40s.

When I started budgeting and decided to be frugal this year, I promised myself that if there’s one thing I’m not going to be frugal on was my skincare products. Well, I broke that promise this weekend. With my upcoming trip to Texas in less than 2 months, I felt the financial pressure and caved in. I needed an eye cream and an anti-aging serum. Usually those 2 items cost me around $120.00-$150.00. I kept calculating and modifying my budget to see if I can find that money, but I just couldn’t. So, I bought these products from a drugstore and I only looked at items that were on sale. The total came out to be around $25.00.

I don’t know how I feel about this. It’s good that I didn’t spent too much money now, but it’s bad that I might end up spending more when I get older and even that couldn’t reverse the damage. But then again, it’s only this one time. (I promise again! –;)

Well, it’s already done. I’m going to focus on giving my skin more moisture and nutrients with other products that I already have at home. I have Amore’s honey gold pack and other face masks that I can use more often and try to drink more water. There are home made face packs that I can concoct with food items such as yogurt and fruits. This is my way of rationalizing my decision and making me feel better about it.

How do you guys feel about using drug store skincare products?

10 thoughts on “Should You Skimp on Skincare?

  1. I wrote a post this weekend about 4 things that I can’t “cheap-out” on and one of the things was face cream. I’m not saying that drugstore brand stuff isn’t as good as department store stuff, I just haven’t found any that worked for me…yet…

    • I don’t know if it’s in my head, but it feels different when putting it on too.
      I don’t think I can do this again. I just don’t feel good about it. I just needed to vent about my moment of weakness.

  2. I think if it’s occasionally, then it might not affect it so much in the long term (but I’m not a dermatologist, so not sure)? I don’t have the best skin, either, so it’s something I prefer to not skimp on. I also try to buy when there’s a special going on (and mooch off my mom’s samples), since the travel size versions can be handy and every little bit adds up.

    • I do have a few samples left, so I think I’ll sneak those in between. I’m putting the drugstore stuff I just bought on lavishly to use them up fast and hoping it will be better for my skin.

  3. Pingback: Debtors Anonymous – Confessions of a Shopaholic | Michelle's Finance Journal

  4. Pingback: Things You Won’t Let Go | Michelle's Finance Journal

  5. Pingback: How Much Do You Budget For Gifts? | Michelle's Finance Journal

  6. This is a great topic! Most of my cosmetic purchases are drug store brands. The exceptions I make are usually for skincare. I also have finicky skin, so it seems worth it. For example, I splurge on Smashbox foundation because it’s the only one I’ve found that a) matches my skin tone b) lasts the full day c) doesn’t streak and d) doesn’t make my pores look gigantic. Occasionally I’ll try a drug store brand foundation. But it’s never quite right. I think I spend more money on failed attempts at using drugstore foundation than I would spend if I just forked over the money for Smashbox.

  7. Pingback: Debt-Free Bucket List | Michelle's Finance Journal

Leave a Reply

