What Charity Do You Cherish?

I’m learning and gaining a lot on this path to financial freedom that’s long ahead not just about my finances, but about myself, about my hubby, and our dynamics in context of money. But I’m also finding myself thinking about money, saving money, spending money, budgeting money, money, money, money way too much!!

It makes me focus on myself too much. How I’m going to save for MY retirement, MY emergency fund, MY shopping money, MY, MY, MY!! I don’t know how other people are handling this transition, but since I clearly need help balancing this, I wanted to take this time to talk about giving, specifically about a charity organization that I support.

The charity organization that I support is called, Compassion International. I got introduced to this organization through my church about 5 year ago. They find sponsors to support children around the world who can’t afford clean water, education, food, and medical help and also teach them how much they’re loved not only by their sponsors, but by Jesus Christ who is our savior.

You only need to donate $38.00 a month to sponsor a child until the child turns 18. I know $38.00 a month can add up, but we don’t need this money to survive, but these children are desperate for this money to survive.

A Quick History of the Organization:

After the Korean War, Korea was devastated as you can imagined. An American evangelist Rev. Everett Swanson was in Korea briefly for a conference and every morning he saw these trucks picking up trash bags that were lining the streets. He wondered what kind of trash would be filled up every day and picked up daily when there was nothing left in homes. Couple of days later, he saw a truck again picking up trash bags and something slipped out of one of the bags. To his horror, it was a child’s arm. Every morning, these trucks were picking up lifeless bodies of children who either starved to death or froze to death abandoned or orphaned.

After he came back to America, he couldn’t forget what he saw and what he knew. He prayed to God and he finally decided to start Compassion International to help these helpless children. Compassion started with few children in Korea, but now supporting more than 1.2 million children worldwide. Korea started as a sponsored country, but now that it’s prosperous, it’s one of the sponsor countries that help children elsewhere in the world.

How It Works:

You register to sponsor a child and you can leave it at random or you can choose a country and a gender for them to choose a child for you to sponsor. Your bank information needs to be given so the donation can be debited monthly. You communicate with your child through letters, pictures, and prayers. They have volunteers that translate the letters for you, so no need to worry about that part. There are other volunteer opportunities as well.

I encourage you to check them out and help another child find love and hope.

Do you have a charity that you cherish?  Why don’t you share it with us?

5 thoughts on “What Charity Do You Cherish?

  1. I sometimes get disenchanted with how much overhead takes a bite out of donations with the bigger charities, so I usually just support whatever my friends are raising money for (i.e., when they do races and raising money for cancer/AIDS research, when they’re in a low-income school and need equipment for their classrooms, etc.). Compassion sounds like a very worthwhile charity, though!

    • I know what you mean, but I figured for the people at the end of the chain, something is better than nothing and they’re usually desperate for anything.
      I do have a friend who just decided to do a race for brain cancer cure. Maybe I can kill 2 birds with one stone by helping a good cause and move my body away from my sofa. We’ll see~^^

    • I feel the exact some way. Still, there are some charities who don’t have tremendous overhead expenses. But I do like to support local causes because I feel like I have a better idea of where the money is actually going.

      • I haven’t really got involved with local causes other than my church and I’ve been really lazy overall in volunteering lately. Other than money, there are so much I can do to get involved, but I need to unglue my butt from my sofa first~ This laziness problem seems to be the cause of all my problem~urggg

  2. Pingback: Debt-Free Bucket List | Michelle's Finance Journal

Leave a Reply

