You Paid That Much for Being a Bridesmaid?

Everyone knows how expensive it can get being a bridesmaid. Of course, it all depends on the region, the type of wedding, what the bride wants, the financial state of all the bridesmaid, and etc. But I didn’t realize how much other bridesmaids were spending for each wedding they were part of since I didn’t pay nearly as much as what the polls were saying they were. I’ve been a bridesmaid 5 times. It is odd that a girl with less than 5 close friends ended up being a bridesmaid 5 times, but that has more to do with not being able to say “No”, especially to brides.

According to Wedding Republic, average cost for a bridesmaid is $1695.00. This includes travel cost, dress, gifts, jewelry, among other things. That’s crazy~!!! I’m sure a lot of these girls don’t have this kind of money sitting comfortably in their fun money account waiting to be spent. I sure didn’t and don’t still. Do they just use credit cards to pay for this kind of expense? In a same group, if some people have the money and some people don’t, how do they decide the budget or do they just go with what the bride wants?

In my experience, other than my best friend’s wedding, I spent $250.00-$400.00. For my BFF, I spent around $1500.00 since I gave her a lot more for her wedding present and a little more overall. So her figure is not counted in here. Here’s the break down.

-All the weddings were in town, so no travel cost there.
-No money spent for dress since all were either bought or rented by the bride.
-I spent $65.00 for hair in one wedding and the others were paid by the bride.
-I either did the make up myself or the bride paid for it.
-$50.00 for shower gift.
-$100.00 for wedding gift.
-$30-130.00 for bridal shower.
-No bachelorette party. We just hung out together which costed around $50.00.
-No money spent for jewelry since either the bride bought us as gifts or I wore what I had.
-No money spent for shoes since either the bride bought us as gifts or I wore what I had since at the time of each wedding, I had a pair of shoes that matched the dress. This was a good luck~^^

I was able to be a bridesmaid 5 times without having a massive credit card bill due to the fact that most of the brides paid for my hair, make up, dress and they were so concerned about the money that the bridesmaids had to pay, they were very accommodating and didn’t want anything elaborate. I was very lucky to have considerate brides. But just because we didn’t spend a lot of money, that doesn’t mean we didn’t have a great time. We made sure the brides felt special and loved and we made some great memories together. If you have the money for it, by all means, go for it. I’m just saying, in case you don’t have that much money for it, you don’t have to worry. You can still have a great time together. The tricky part is how to come to that consensus with your bride and other bridesmaids.

How much did you spend on being a bridemaid? A quick break down would be fun~^^

12 thoughts on “You Paid That Much for Being a Bridesmaid?

  1. I don’t want my bridesmaids to spend a lot on my wedding at all. However, I have a bridezilla best friend and she said that she’s having 3 bridal showers so that us bridesmaids will be forced to give her 3 good bridal shower gifts. She told us that at a dinner the other day and we were all SHOCKED.

  2. The few times I was a bridesmaid, I probably spent around $1500-1800/each, since they were all destination weddings. This is counting the dress ($100-$150), airfare ($300-700), hotel ($100-150/night), bridal shower ($150), bachelorette party ($200), and gifts ($150). Being popular is expensive! j/k They were all worth it 🙂

  3. I’ve only been a bridesmaid once and thankfully it wasn’t too expensive. It was in a different town so I had to travel alot during that year but I can’t complain since it was my sister getting married. She paid for our bridesmaid dress which was $200 and but we all paid for our own hair, shoes, and makeup. I gave her more money than I normally would because she’s family and not just a friend.

    • I always wanted a sister~ I do have a great time and an emotional moment at my friends weddings, but your sister’s wedding, I’d imagine, would be more special.

    • I didn’t believe it when I first heard about the average cost a few years ago. But since then, I’ve met some people that actually do spend that much. Sometimes it’s the bride who demands it and sometimes it’s the bridemaids. Thanks goodness, that wasn’t the case for you and me.

  4. I’ve never been a bridesmaid, and it’s quite possible I’ll never be one (have no sisters, and not a lot of female friends, plus they’re all Indian and I’m not, which *does* make a difference in the bridal party planning)…

    I’m having one bridesmaid, she’ll either wear something she’s already got or I’ll pay for a dress. My bachelorette party will only have a handful of attendees, and they know I don’t want them to spend a lot on it … so that’s really over to them!

    • I think communication is really important. I told my bridesmaids what I’ll be paying for before asking them to be my bridesmaids. So they know what they’re responsible for and what they’re not.

  5. Pingback: Prom Season | Michelle's Finance Journal

Leave a Reply

