Planning Ahead, way ahead~

Since my hubby and I are trying to clean up our mess that we didn’t know we were in until we actually looked closely early this year, we currently don’t have any vacation or other money spending event plans. It’s really hard to not buy a vacation package deal with our credit card and tell ourselves how smart we were by finding a great deal that saved us tons of money. My hubby wants to go take a tropical island vacation and I want to go on a Europe trip. Neither one of them fits our budget as of right now.

To calm my jitters and get myself out of boredom, I’ve been researching and planning things ahead. To be exact, I’ve been researching events that won’t happen for another 3 years and 8 years. 3 year one is the Europe trip I’ll take with my best friend. 8 year one is our 10 year wedding anniversary celebration. Yes, yes, I’m crazy for researching things that won’t happen for a very long time. From practical point of view, pricing and availability will not be the same. But emotionally, I need this. Even though 10 year anniversary thing is way way way later and the Europe trip thing doesn’t even have a set date, I need to have something to look forward to. Not just the nitty gritty debt payment journey that’s way too long for my liking.

I’ve been filling my head with all the hopes and dreams of an adventurous Europe trip and a beautiful anniversary reception. It’s not like I’m actually spending money. I’m just nonchalantly doing this to keep my sanity. Yes, I have an excel sheet out to set up an imaginary budget and itinerary, but I assure you, I’m not going to do anything really crazy like pulling my credit card out after I’m done planning everything.

Does anyone else do this? What other methods do you guys use to get over the urge to spend big bucks and stay focused?

11 thoughts on “Planning Ahead, way ahead~

  1. I plan ahead for sure – I’m going to take a Paris trip with my girls when we turn 40, and I hope to at least go on one international vacation every 5 years. I agree it helps with the day to day feelings of constantly paying down debt when there’s a “light” at the end of the tunnel! Where are you going for your European adventure? 🙂

    • Paris trip with the girls sounds awesome~ My best friend and I went to London, Paris, Nice, Florence, Rome, Lucerne, Bern, Lausanne, Lauterbrunnen six years ago. It was a very short backpacking trip. We want to do another backpacking trip for 2 to 3 weeks. We’ve been researching independently, so we haven’t decided exactly where we’re going to go. But I’m leaning toward Germany, Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria. At this stage, it’s just browsing and gather information loosely. Not until probably next year, we’ll talk about it together to set something more solid. Just thinking about it makes me tingly inside.

  2. I think that planning ahead is a great idea. At least you know that even though you are not having a vacation this year, you will have one soon, if you work hard to get the finances together to have one. Hopefully it will motivate you and you will be able to have a guilt free holiday, knowing that you are not extending your debt by taking it. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: Friday's Fab Links #2 | A Disease called Debt

  4. Hi Michelle! I really like this post – I think planning ahead for holidays is a great idea to try to keep sane. We haven’t been on vacation in 4 years and sometimes I go a bit stir crazy! I’m going to give planning ahead a try. 🙂

    • I don’t blame you for feeling crazy sometimes. 4 years is a long time. I hope this helps you stay focused and not be frustrated. Share your vacation ideas while planning. I get excited about other peoples’ plans too~^^

Leave a Reply

