Christmas Is Just Around The Corner

You may be thinking it’s only September and Summer hasn’t officially ended. Why is Michelle talking about Christmas already?
Well, I’ll tell you why. Because I’m trying to be budget savvy and plan ahead for Christmas so I won’t be paying off credit card the first 6 months of the new year. Last year, we were feeling the pain of Christmas of 2011’s over indulgence until June of 2012. Although we did better for Christmas 2012, I’m determined to not put any balance left on our credit card by the time clock strikes 12am on January 1st of 2014.

Let’s figure out exactly how I’m going to do that.

1.Plan and budget:
This is an obvious one, but I haven’t been doing a good job of it so far. So I made a list of people that I need to get presents for and set a rough budget on each category of people. Not only this helps you not overspend, but also helps you to not forget anybody. I want to focus on the real meaning of Christmas on Christmas, which is to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, not about who I forgot to get a gift for or how much is on my credit card.

2.Look for sale:
If you wait until December to buy gifts, you’re limited to items that are on sale at that particular time. If you start early, there will be multiple different sale opportunities with different items you can buy. Also, try signing up to be notified when there’s flash sales and other promotions for great savings.

3.Take advantage of free delivery:
If you plan ahead, you are more likely to be able to take advantage of free delivery for online orders. If you try to order stuff at the last minute, you may either have to pay for shipping or end up ordering extra stuff just to meet the threshold dollar amount for free shipping.

4.Bulk order perks:
You know the sales pitch “buy 1, get 1 free” or “buy 1, get 2nd one half off”. If you’re buying just because you heard the word free or half off, you’re wasting your money. But if you needed to buy 2 of something anyway, by all means, take advantage of the discount.

I already got 2 packages this week and got 7 gifts. Usually Sephora’s sale items don’t have skin care products that I like, but they had Peter Thomas Roth and Boscia items, so I got one each. I ordered some tea sets and mugs from Tea Forte that were on sale with $10 coupon I got for doing their survey. Both orders were free shipping and on average, I spent $13 per present with good quality. I’m quite happy with what I got so far. I’ll be browsing online often to find some goodies and share some with you if they’re worth mentioning.

Are you thinking about Christmas yet? How are you planning for it financially?

13 thoughts on “Christmas Is Just Around The Corner

  1. We don’t go ‘big’ on Christmas, but it makes sense to plan for presents and stuff BEFORE, otherwise you’re stuck with inflated prices and a lot of stress. Having a list and a budget, plus doing some smart purchasing even now, will help a lot. I can’t wait to read after the holidays how this tactic helped your budget this year. There should be some serious differences, I think 🙂

    • We don’t go ‘big’ on Christmas either, but somehow I’m left with bunch of bills at the end. That’s why we’re planning ahead this year. If not for anything else, but to avoid the embarrassment of repoting that we still went over budget on the Christmas recap I’ll be doing later, I better stay on top of this~^^

  2. Great tips, Michelle! We usually don’t spend a lot during Christmas (I usually just bake a bunch of treats and ship them out), but I like the idea of planning for it now so that you’re not paying for it later! I agree about sales, too, and then saving it up for Christmas time (plus you don’t have to deal with the crazy crowds!).

    • I do love shopping during Christmas shopping though. I don’t particularly like the crowd, but the decorations, musics, seeing people frantically fighting for gifts let me know that it’s Christmas time.
      Baked goods sound delicious, personal, and Christmassy~ May I put one order it right now? ^^

  3. I plan for Christmas all year long — a monthly deposit into a savings account. Then, around July (the Target toy clearance sale!), I start my holiday shopping. I already have a few gifts bought 🙂 I try not to shop at all in December. I hate battling the crowds. If there is a good deal on something in December, I’ll buy it for an upcoming birthday.

  4. Pingback: Tying Lose Ends | Michelle's Finance Journal

Leave a Reply

