Stress Melter

I got pampered this weekend and I’m feeling good and relaxed. I found out at the end of last week that through Sunday the 20th, it’s Spa week and Red Door Spa in our area was participating in it. I got really excited and didn’t want to miss this opportunity, so I quickly called and made an appointment for 2 services. Red Door Spa was offering 4 items with special spa week pricing, which were spa pedicure, spa manicure, facial, and stress melter body treatment for $50 each. I initially wanted the facial and the pedicure, but they had open spots on different days. I just wanted to book both on a same day, so I changed my service to the stress melter body treatment and the spa pedicure.

So I got there on Saturday at noon. They greeted me and took me on a tour and I changed into a very fluffy and soft robe. I started with the body treatment. I had massages done before, but never any body treatment. The description included body wrap and dry scrub. I didn’t know how pleasant or relaxing it would be. The therapist(?) dry scrubbed me with scrub gloves on and oiled me up with a nice scented body oil in a massage style. Then he wrapped me up in a foil looking thingy with warm towels covering my feet and my neck. Then he proceeded to give me a scalp massage. I must say it was quite lovely. But he left me to bake in the wrap for another 20 minutes. I thought it was a little too long for my taste. I don’t know if it was the oil or my sweat dripping on my back, but towards the end, it was getting a little too hot. When he unwrapped me, he gave me another quick rub and I was out. It really was a stress melter. When I checked out the regular price online, it was $255.00. The body treatment was really good, but not that good in my opinion, so $50.00 was just perfect.

Then onto my spa pedicure. The technician gave me a foot massage and took time and care to do my nails. I was offered all kinds of drinks. I think throughout my time there, I had 3 or 4 drinks. Everyone was pleasant and they didn’t treat me any different than other people who were getting the regular price items that were much more expensive than what I was paying that day. I walked out feeling like a million bucks even though I only paid $100 plus tip. Now, I know some of you might have been shouting at your computer screen whether I had a budget for this or I made an impulse buy hearing the word spa week. I wasn’t reckless with my money just because I found out about this deal. I used my $100.00 Red Door Spa gift card that I’ve been keeping for the past year. I got it for my birthday day last year, but other than pedicure and manure services, facial and massages were all well over $100.00. I didn’t want to end up spending another $100.00 to spend my birthday gift, so I was just holding it indefinitely. This was a perfect chance to use the card and get 2 services. Yippy~

For me, this was a great deal and I’m happy that I got this when I really needed it. Aside from the money issue, I needed some kind of stress reliever. I didn’t go on any vacation this year and the work environment hasn’t been really optimistic or encouraging lately. So to boost my morale and get through 2013 on a high note, this was really helpful and valuable for me personally. But I know everyone has different opinion and situation. How much do you think is too much for a spa service? Would you have taken advantage of this deal without the gift card like I had? I think if I didn’t have the gift card, I would’ve only gotten the body treatment or nothing. And I don’t think I would’ve been jumping to get on the phone to make an appointment either. But I did have a gift card and I’m so glad I did.

What do you do to relieve stress? Do you think it’s worth it to spend money on stress relieving activity?

8 thoughts on “Stress Melter

  1. Stress melter body treatment… doesn’t this sound magical?! It does! I want to have a SPA treatment so bad now that I’ve read your post 😛 SPA treatments are way too expensive in London so I don’t normally go. However, I would have taken advantage of a good deal. I think a SPA day is something that every woman should enjoy occasionally.

    • I hope my post didn’t make you spend money on an expensive spa treatment~^^
      It really is magical though. I want another one. I’ll be on a look out for great deals and only great ones not good ones.

  2. Michelle, this sounds amazing! Glad you made use of your gift card! I miss spa treatments so much. I probably wouldn’t have spent that amount without the gift card but when the debts are gone, I’m going to budget for a massage treatment once per month. They really do work wonders!

    • When I’m out of debt, I’m planning to join some kind of reward program and bulk purchase number of treatments to get discount to treat myself on a regular basis. That’s long time from now, but it’s something to look forward to while working on this long debt freedom journey~

  3. It may sound strange to you but for my stress relief I go online and work on my blog and network my blog by reading blogs like yours – crazy right? I don’t know why but I tend to find doing online work very relaxing.

  4. Wow, that’s awesome that you got both and on a gift card! I wasn’t too into spas before, but think I’ll splurge with an occasional facial next year. I’m hoping I’ll get some gift cards for my bridal shower, though not expecting it. I’m a big fan of deep tissue massages, as well – it’s painful for the first two days, but feels amazing afterward! Glad you treated yourself. 🙂

    • I rarely go get spa treatments. But this was too good to miss.
      6 months before my wedding, I got facial every other week since I have acne issue and wanted to look good on my wedding day. It cleared up and my face looked all bright and everything, but the week before the wedding, everything came back because I was so stressed. Money wasted~

Leave a Reply

