2013 Financial Goals Reached!!

I had 3 big picture financial goals for 2013 and in July I tweaked a little bit and evaluated how we’re doing so far at that time. I’m proud to say that all 3 are done and early might I add. They were all relatively easy goals to reach and some people might say that I’m being too easy on myself. Well that may be true, but I know myself well enough to gauge the level of goals I need to set to not quit and finish it. This is not a sprint, but a marathon. So I’m pacing myself and so far so good in my opinion. I think that’s all that matters. It’s a personal journey, so no matter how grand your goals are and how great other people think they are, if you’re not motivated and overwhelmed, what’s the point?

The first goal was to save $2,000.00 for an emergency fund. There was $1,000.00 in that fund in July and now there’s exactly $2,000.00 in there. I still don’t feel comfortable with just $2,000.00 as our emergency fund, but this is just a starter emergency fund while paying down our debt. I do want to one day have 6 months fully funded emergency fund, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

The second goal was to save $1,000.00 for our moving fund for next year and pay down our debt as much as possible. We now have $1,000.00 for moving next year and my student loan is below $15k mark and 401k loan has all been paid off. We also cash flowed hubby’s fall MBA tuition and we have enough to pay out of pocket for his winter tuition. Well, 401k and most of fall tuition came from my hubby’s job switch, mostly from his severance pay and unused PTO money. But we didn’t blow that money and put all that towards debt and not getting into more debt.

The last goal was to pay off the 3 small fedloan loans that I had around $2,000.00 balance. That’s been paid off a couple of months ago. Now we’re focusing on saving money for hubby’s tuition and paying down my student loan. Even though these were all attainable goals, I was a little worried because we had and still have a lot of expenses coming up. But we made it ahead of schedule and can now focus on paying other student loan debt. I do have 2014 financial goals already in mind, but I’ll post it later so this post doesn’t get too long and confusing.

How are your 2013 goals coming along? Are you ahead of schedule or behind?

13 thoughts on “2013 Financial Goals Reached!!

  1. Congrats! My only specific goal has been to maintain an average student loan payment of $1500 per month this year and beyond that was just vague “saving” which seems to have worked out fine enough.

    My wife and I will be making more solid savings plans for the upcoming year. And I’m sure I’ll make a post about it!

    Congrats again!

    • Thanks Steve~ I was kind of overwhelmed with my financial situation early this year when I finally looked at it closely. I still have a lot to learn and change, but I’m feeling better about it and with less anxiety.

  2. First of all, I love your new blog design! It looks so pretty!

    LOL at “[I do want to one day have 6 months fully funded emergency fund] but let’s not get ahead of ourselves”. The last bit is just too funny! I always have to remind myself of this too! I am sure you will get there before you know it and will have saved the required amount!

    Congrats on achieving all your goals for 2013. I didn’t have any and I still don’t have any for this year. I will just keep doing what I am doing and see where I’m at in January 2014. I have set a couple of goals for 2014 but I’m awful at setting goals and must try harder! I will post them too some time in December I think.

    • Looking forward to see your 2014 goal post. Whether you specifically outlined your goals for 2013 or not, you’re donig well and going toward the right direction, so congrats~

  3. You’ve clearly solved a lot of issues and are doing very well. I haven’t checked my goals too thoroughly, am leaving it for the end of the year, but I’m doing pretty OK myself. Hope 2014 will be at least this good and we’re set 😉

    • Although I’m not good at keeping up with my monthly goals, I constanly check the yearly goals I set. Once I get used to checking off the yearly goals, maybe I’ll finally be able to check off on my monthly goals too.

  4. Oooh, I love the new layout, so pretty!! And most of all – a huge congrats on accomplishing some amazing goals!! So happy for you that you’re taking care of business one goal at a time! Looking forward to the day that you’re debt free, girl, keep the positive momentum going. 🙂

  5. I think it’s awesome that you’ve achieved all of these fantastic goals! I’ve achieved almost all of mine, and there is only about 50 days left in 2013!

Leave a Reply

