Thankful Heart

Thanksgiving weekend is starting in couple of days and after that Christmas season is in full swing. I wanted to take a moment before the whole holiday madness starts to think about what I’m thankful for. I know I will not be blogging at all over the Thanksgiving weekend since for the first time, my niece and nephew will be here from California. Yay~ to family bonding time!!!

1.As you know I’m Christian, so I wanted to thank God for the salvation and his endless love for me as His daughter. Thanks you Lord~^^

2.The biggest thing that sticks out that I’m thankful for this year that is different than any other year is this journey to debt freedom. I feel like I’m finally settling in and becoming a real adult. I’m not just willy nilly whipping out my credit card and I feel like I’m putting more thought into not just my finances, but every other aspect of life. I’m still trying to find my way, but I feel like I am more mindful and more deliberate in what I do.

3.I am thankful for this blog. The few people that actually read my random thoughts in here and who are interested in my success are truly dear to my heart. I never thought I’d actually find friendship here. Even if I’ll never get to meet these people in real life, their friendship is real to me.

4.I’m thankful that my mom’s still here with me with her sense of humor and special brightness. No matter how sick she gets, her spirit is never down and she’s the cutest lady you’ll ever meet. I’m always comforted by her presence in any shape she’s in.

5.I’m thankful that we have around $11k in my hubby’s MBA loan at the half way point. We thought we would end up with way more, but with his previous employer’s tuition assistance, cash flowing on our own, and severance pay, this is what we have so far. I know it’s still a lot of money, but I’m thankful still.

6.I’m thankful that my brother and I are hanging out more. We were never close enough to talk to each other or hang out a lot, but we’ve been having Sunday dinners together more and watching Netflix at our house more. I’m really glad that he’s opening up more and we’re spending more time.

7.I’m thankful that my hubby and I have full time jobs. Even when he switched jobs in August, he didn’t have any time off, so our finances didn’t have to take a hit at all. Both of us survived company layoffs and I’m super thankful about that.

8.I’m thankful for every little thing that I have. I don’t think about it and I take for granted most of the times, but if you really think about everything, it’s really something.

9.I’m thankful for all my friends. I told you before that I don’t have many friends and I have hard time making friends. But the few that I have even if they’re just acquaintances have listened to me, hung out with me, and ate with me at different times. I appreciate those memories.

I kind of lumped everything under 8 and 9 without being specific, but you get what I’m trying to say. I just need to remember to live a thankful life every day of the year, not just during Thanksgiving. My mom’s the best example of a person who prays, thankful, and happy all the time.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone~!!

What are you guys thankful for? Any fun Thanksgiving tradition in your family?

4 thoughts on “Thankful Heart

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Michelle! I loved reading about the things you’re thankful for. I hope your mum is doing ok at the moment? Like you, I’m thankful that this year turned out to be a milestone as such for my debt enabling me to refocus on what’s important to me. I’m always truly thankful for my husband, daughter and other family.

    • My mom’s ok at the moment. Every time I feel like she can’t hold on anymore, she pulls through.
      I’m so happy that you joined PF community and have been so inspired and inspiring. Let’s hope for better 2014.

Leave a Reply

