Snow Storm 101

We just had another snow storm in the east coast and to be honest, I’m so done with Winter this year.  This Winter has been one of the coldest Winter that I’ve experienced and too many snow storms that’s big enough to make many peoples’ lives difficult, but small enough that we have to drag ourselves to work.  But over the years, I’ve learned a few things to do ahead of time or during to make my life a little easier to leave for work the day after the snow storm.  This has to do with your safety, your sanity, and your budget.  If you get into an accident, your physical and mental health will suffer as well as your bank account.  One thing to keep in mind though is that I’m in Northern Virginia.  So it doesn’t get as cold or crazy as some other northern states, so my preps wouldn’t be as hard core as those people up there.

1. Make sure all the fluids are full in your car.  From my experience, you need to be sure to check that you have enough windshield wiping fluid.  One time, I cleaned all the snow and ice off my car and I was driving to work and there was a small ice patch that I didn’t get off on the far right corner.  I should’ve left it alone, but I turned on the windshield wiper and the fluid.  There was no fluid and the windshield wiper made the whole windshield dirty and it was hard to see.  It’s really unsettling to drive with a dirty windshield when the roads are covered in ice.  It can get very dangerous.  So don’t be a dummy like me.

2. Don’t wait until the morning or the evening to clean the snow off your car.  This depends on when the snow storm hits, but try to get your car cleaned before it freezes overnight.  It’s easier to clean when the snow is still fluffy and you can just swipe it off the car.  When it freezes over, you have to really put some strength in it.  Even if the snow storm doesn’t stop for hour and hours, try to go out when it slows down before the whole foot of snow freezes around your car.  It’ll make it easier for you later.

3. Be sure to clean the top of your car.  This is one of my pet peeves when people drive with a thick snow or ice on top of their cars.  Because they don’t just stay there forever or wait for you to be parked to melt.  They fly off when you’re driving and it can cause accidents.  It’s very dangerous, but people only clean what they see in their eye level.  I’ve witnessed some crazy stuff with people trying to dodge a flying sheet of thick ice and I’ve experienced it myself and it’s not fun at all.  Most of the times though, the people who are the cause of it don’t even know what kind of dangerous chaos they’re creating behind them.  So please remember to clean the top of your cars!!!

4. Check your tires before Winter starts.  Long time ago, I had cheap, tiny, and old tires on my small car that didn’t have much power.  During a snow storm, I was almost stuck on the highway.  I mean, I wasn’t stuck, but every time I was trying to go over 30 mph my car would skid and I was scared.  Everyone was honking at me and I desperately wanted to get out of there fast alive.  That was the only time, I would get stuck everywhere that I just a tiny slope.  Now I make sure I don’t get the cheapest tires and before Winter I make sure my tires are okay to go.  I just replaced all my tires last October, so I’m good to go.

5. Snow scraper does scratch your car.  I don’t know about other people, but once I start scraping ice and snow off my car, I go nuts on it.  For some dumb reason, I decided that it won’t ever scratch  my car.  My husband did the same thing and scratched his car with his as I did to my car.  Be sure to not use the scraper if there’s any crack or chip on it.  Those surfaces that touch the car will do some damage.  And go easy on it.  Don’t be like a scraping maniac like I was at times.

6. Save “looking cute” for later.  You can pack your nice pair of pumps to change into at work and wear something less warm underneath to show later, but you better be prepared to face the cold wind and icy parking lot before you get to your work building.  Aside from being embarrassed when caught by someone when you fall on your butt, falling on icy sidewalk, stairs, or parking lot is a very dangerous situation.  You can crack, break, bruise, twist, bleed, scratch, or scrape any part of your body.  What if you hurt yourself bad enough you can’t even move and there’s no one to help you until hours later.  You might even have to add hypothermia or frostbite to your injury at that point.  So please, wear your snow boots, gloves, layers of clothes, scarves, ear muffs and other clothes to keep yourself warm and not fall on your butt.

I know these sound like common sense, but you’d be surprise how many people don’t take these simple steps in consideration.  I didn’t until I found myself in an annoying or dangerous situation.  Just to add one more, don’t walk on the icy road with your hands in the pocket.  It makes me very nervous seeing people do that.  I hope everyone stay safe and warm.

Do you have any tip to add to preparing for the snow storm?  If you’re in the area that don’t have snow storm, what natural disaster do you have to prepare for?     

 

6 thoughts on “Snow Storm 101

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of prep work during snow storms – I wouldn’t have even thought about the snow on top of cars, but that’s a great point! I agree, too, about tires, no matter where you are – it gets scary in SoCal when it rains, since I don’t think enough people make it a point to have good tires at all times (plus, my pet peeve is they still go pretty fast when there’s bikers on the bike lane and water splashes on them – so rude!!). I’m glad to hear you weren’t injured during that scary tire moment!

    • It seems like a lot, but this will save you trouble later on. Plus, you don’t want to be the cause of horrible accidents let alone be in it because of someone else.
      I wasn’t injured during my scary tire moment, but when I got home, I was aching everywhere since I was so tense the whole time.
      Drive safely always~

  2. I’m SO DONE with this stupid weather too!!! ARGH!!! I still need to get an ice scraper and snow brush (we have underground parking so are usually fine) and I realized my rear windshield fluid has run out this past week. D’oh. I’m skidding all over the place and Mr. Bacon was amused that I was such a California girl picking him up from work on Tuesday night. I was TERRIFIED!

    • I thought I ran out of the windshield fluid, but I didn’t. It was just frozen and when it got a little warmer, it started working again. I lived here for 20 years and I still suck at driving in the snow, so don’t feel bad.

  3. I’m also in the northeast/east coast, and I fully agree with you. The last time it was this cold I was probably only 6-7 years old and playing in snow – can’t deal with it now. I love the snow, hate the cold. These are some great tips though, I got new tires right before winter this year in preparation for the snow and it seems to have paid off.

    The only thing I can’t understand is why people rush to the store to buy shovels, etc?! We’ve had the same shovels for 10+ years. Maybe if I lived somewhere where snow isn’t common but that really confuses me living where snow is expected.

Leave a Reply

