Long Overdue Update

Happy Friday everyone! Boy am I glad that it’s Friday today. I didn’t have a difficult week or anything, but I think this warmer weather is making me itch to go out or drink margarita or something. Which is why I’m going to a happy hour with my hubby today. He needs to relax a little too. It can’t all be work and school.

Like I mentioned last time, we paid my hubby’s Summer tuition with cash and we have one more semester to go after that. The end is near and both my hubby and I can’t wait to go on a vacation afterwards. We haven’t had a vacation in 2 years!!! I’m giving him the first choice to pick a destination, but if he doesn’t let me know by end of May, I’m going to select it. We need to put money aside and plan it ahead of time. I’m leaning toward Las Vegas since they have package deals and my hubby has never been there. There are many different things that you can do without moving around too much either. But we’ll see how it goes. I’ll be sure to let you know once it’s decided. I know some of you might think that we should wait on taking a long vacation, but aside from anything else, we really need a vacation. Both my hubby and I need to get away and have fun. This is needed for our sanity and health in my opinion.

Another good financial news is that my Salliemae student loan is finally below $10k mark. Yay~!!! I’m so excited to see the needles moving. I’m hoping I can pay mine off by end of next year. Our priority now is my hubby’s MBA loans since they’re bigger and the interest rate is ridiculous. I’ve been working on my new debt payoff goals and plans for the next few years. Of course things could change for the better or worse, but as of my current projection, we should be debt free by end of 2017. But that could also change depending on whether we decide to save up for a house before we’re debt free. We won’t really talk about that until next year anyway.

Where are you guys planning to go for a vacation this year? I’d love to hear where you guys are going and the budget amount, so I can imagine it and help me wait until next year.

4 thoughts on “Long Overdue Update

  1. Congrats on the accomplishments! Quick thing to check out for your hubby’s student loans: SoFi and DRB both have really really good rates to refinance/consolidate student loans for MBAs. I just consolidated/refinanced mine at 5.25% for 10 years (and could have gotten 4.75% for 5 years). My fed rates were 7.9% and 6.8% so this turned out to be a huge savings for us! For SoFi, you have to graduate from a participating school, but I would highly recommend checking them out.

Leave a Reply

