I’m Back!

HELLO~!!! I can’t believe it has been almost a year since my last post.  There were many changes and happenings during the last year in my personal life.  I just kind of forgot about my blog going through my life basically, but I’ve been really missing it recently.  I felt really badly about abandoning my blog for so long and couldn’t face any of you that are still checking my blog out.  But not getting over this feeling, which is mostly guilt, will definitely end my blog.  So I’m going try to come back to it.  It’ll take some time to get the swing of things and re-connecting with old blog friends as well as making new ones.

Let me give you a brief recap of what happened in my life the past year.

First one that is big enough to be mentioned here is a real biggie.  My hubby got laid off last summer.   I knew in my head that this could happen to anyone including us, but it seemed so unreal when it first happened.  My hubby’s company was a small company and after losing a contract, they couldn’t afford to keep him.  But by grace of God and my hubby being diligent, he found a new job in a month.  Praise the Lord~!!  He’s still with the “new” company and this really hit me in the head about getting the emergency fund ready.    With my tiny salary, little bit of unemployment, only paying the minimum on all our debt, and a little emergency fund, we could’ve lasted 2 months without my hubby working.  But if my hubby didn’t find a new job that quickly, I don’t know how we would’ve survived.  Our emergency is still small, but I am building it faster than my original plan.

Second one is the fact that my hubby finally finished his MBA program.  Whoo whoo~ I was and am still so proud of my hubby having a demanding full time job and putting so much of himself in his studies as well for 2 ½ years.  He didn’t just want to pass, but he wanted to really learn everything he could and get great grades.  And he did.  A cherry on top is the fact that we ended up with around $16k left in his MBA loan.  We tried to save and pay as we went and that really helped a lot.

Third one is that fact that my uncle in Houston passed away out of the blue.  Remember a couple of years ago I mentioned about my cousin’s wedding in Houston?  It’s his dad who passed.  My brother and I went there to support our family there.  It was surreal seeing him lay there.  He was a very healthy and strong person.  I really thought he would outlive us all.  I am glad I got to go there to say goodbye to him and be there for my aunt and other relatives.

Fourth one is the fact that my mom was hospitalized again a little over a week ago.  She is extremely weak and getting more confused.  My brother and I have been alternating days to spend the night at her house.  She doesn’t express her pain or show her suffering, but I can tell she’s having a hard time, because she’s so physically weak.  Please keep her in your prayer.

Finally, that last one I wanted to keep you guys updated is that my car has been paid off and my student loan has less than $4k left.  Since my hubby graduated from his MBA program, we have been less careful with money.  We’ve been eating out more and shopping more.  But I still think we’re making good enough progress.  We can do better and we will, but I want him to enjoy his free time a little longer.

So there you have it.  I hope I didn’t depress you guys with a couple of sad news, but don’t worry.  We’re doing well and I am thankful.

How have you all been?  What’s the one thing you would tell me from last year?

One thought on “I’m Back!

  1. I’m glad you’re back! I just came back, too. I’ve missed blogging! I’m so glad your husband found a new job in a month! That’s so great!

Leave a Reply

